I Am Not Competing With Anybody


There are those that preach Christ out of envy and contention.

PHILIPPIANS 1:15-17 (MKJV)

Some indeed even preach Christ because of envy and strife, and some also of good will.

Those, indeed, preach Christ out of contention, not sincerely, supposing to add affliction to my bonds.

But these others preach in love, knowing that I am set for the defense of the gospel.

If there is both an intent and will to preach, they must come from God.

PHILIPPIANS 2:13

For it is God which worketh in you both to will and to do of his good purpose.

To preach the Godly way is to preach and speak in a manner that God wants a preacher to speak.

I THESSALONIANS 2:3-6

For our exhortation was not of deceit, nor of uncleanness, nor in guile:

But as we were allowed of God to be put in trust with the gospel, even so we speak; not as pleasing men, but God, which trieth our hearts.

For neither at any time used we flattering words, as ye know, nor a cloak of covetousness; God is witness:

Nor of men sought we glory, neither of you, nor yet of others, when we might have been burdensome, as the apostles of Christ.

Chances are, in preaching the truth, a preacher sent by God may unwittingly make enemies.

GALATIANS 4:16

Am I therefore become your enemy, because I tell you the truth?

But whatever the consequences may be, a faithful preacher will preach the truth and nothing but the truth.

THE ACTS 20:24

But none of these things move me, neither count I my life dear unto myself, so that I might finish my course with joy, and the ministry, which I have received of the Lord Jesus, to testify the gospel of the grace of God.

Frankness and boldness are qualities unappreciated by many in a true preacher!

THE ACTS 4:13

Now when they saw the boldness of Peter and John, and perceived that they were unlearned and ignorant men, they marveled; and they took knowledge of them, that they had been with Jesus.

Since my childhood, I have tried my best to please as much people as possible. I was loved as a son, as a brother, as a classmate, as a friend, and as a student to my mentors. But when I started preaching the Gospel, I was hated, humiliated, charged maliciously, beaten physically and maligned by almost all sectors of human society, save those who believe in God and in the Gospel that I preach.

Once, I was hospitalized for almost a week after a debate wherein I took the stand that Jesus Christ is God. Here is a doctor’s certificate:

GALATIANS 1:10-12

For do I now persuade men, or God? or do I seek to please men? for if I yet pleased men, I should not be the servant of Christ.

But I certify you, brethren, that the gospel which was preached of me is not after man.

For I neither received it of man, neither was I taught it, but by the revelation of Jesus Christ.

Experiencing such extraordinary treatment from those who are enemies of the Gospel is not very easy to bear, but I delight in recalling the word of the Lord Jesus Christ that says:

MATTHEW 5:11

Blessed are ye, when men shall revile you, and persecute you, and shall say all manner of evil against you falsely, for my sake.

TO GOD BE ALL THE GLORY AND THE HONOR FOREVER!!!

I am not competing with anybody when I say that Peter is not the rock but the Lord Jesus Christ.

 

37 thoughts on “I Am Not Competing With Anybody

  1. Though some became your enemy brother Eli, we are not. We thank God for sending you to us. We have known God and His will by using you as instrument. We pray for your safety and may God continuously use you in converting more people. We love you Brother Eli.

  2. Yes, you are not competing Bro. Eli, you are simply glorifying the Lord by doing His commands.

    May the peace and grace from God and the Lord Jesus Christ be upon you always.

  3. This I copy and paste here my comment from Who Holds the Key…/Key To The Locked Book by Jane Abao

    When Peter was given the “key” to the kingdom of God, Paul was not yet an apostle. Paul has a special kind of apostleship. He was chosen separately, on the road to Damascus, far from the twelve, far from Jerusalem and Palestine.
    He was given further revelation beyond what the twelve had been proclaiming; (Eph. 3:1-3; 2 Corinthians 12:2).Peter handed down to Paul the leadership of the gospel… “When James, Cephas (Peter), and John, who seemed to be pillars, perceived the grace that was given unto me, they gave to me and Barnabas the right hands of fellowship; that we should go to the heathen (Gentiles), and they unto the circumcision” (Ga. 2:9)
    It was unto Paul that the hands of fellowship fell.
    In our era of dispensation:
    The key to the kingdom of God is in the man who understands the gospel of the Lord Jesus Christ; he is the chosen one.
    And to me he is no other than Brother Eliseo Soriano.
    Thanks be to God.

  4. The hope of eternal happiness and the joy of doing good is worth it.

    “It is better, if it is the will of God, to suffer for doing good than for doing evil.” – 1 Peter 3:17

    Bro. Eli is the model of the true Christians of today. From the example of Jesus, who went about doing good too, but persecuted, truly, history repeats itself.

    Sadly but true, we live in a world where at times, doing good brings sufferings. Just like Joseph, his payment for serving his people was unjust imprisonment.

    The Apostle Peter, having also been jailed for doing good, he too, understood that kind of sufferings.

    Bro. Eli is the Apostle Paul of this generation. Nevertheless, doing good is still pleasing to God even if mistreated by the world for it.

  5. 1Corinthians 9:2 If to other men I am not an Apostle, yet at any rate I am one to you; for your very existence as a Christian Church is the seal of my Apostleship.

    To us, you Bro. Eli is a messenger of God.

  6. Due to Bro. Eli’s relentless expositions about corrupt and un-biblical practice in religion, his detractors particularly the INC unfortunately considered him as threat and competitor. Hence, at times, it had become indiscriminate and tenacious. The INC apologists had resorted to measures, legal or otherwise, to deflect embarrassment from failure, for example, to defend their blasphemous, nonsensical and un-biblical doctrine that says “Christ is not divine”. Consequently, innumerable instances of INC initiated persecutions; violence, harassment, character vandalism and intolerance have rained upon Bro. Eli and the Church of God. Police records can attest to the fact that scores of MCGI members were injured seriously and there were those who perished as consequences of outrageous INC indiscretions.

    Persecutions and harassment like what Bro. Eli and Church used to suffer from are consequences of spiritual bankruptcy of supposedly religious organization like the INC. That cult is trying to contain, through wicked means, what it perceived to be threat posed by Bro. Eli’s expositions of wrong practice in Christian religion.

    Ironically, Bro Eli is simply propagating the biblical truth in the process and merely laying down the groundwork and opportunity for salvation…if only they could understand!

  7. In the first place, he need not to compete, for the reason that what he preach is undeniably the truth and nothing but the truth. He is the only one who can do that with GOD’s help.

    • Amen! Great is the love of God to His children that He always sent His messengers so His commandents will be known – in these times, Bro. Eli. Thank’s be to God!

  8. Spreading the truth unto the world is not a competition but merely an obligation to be fulfilled by messenger sent by God. Bro. Eli felt he is obliged to do so, he cares for the souls of many and never ever think to compete with anybody. He always says he is a nobody, although we all knew what he got and who is his mentor, so how come a nobody will compete to anybody.

    It is possible that many preachers nowadays felt that Bro. Eli is their competitor in religion, for they were teaching the words of God for profits. The very reason why they never stop making false accusations and lies about him, to pull him down and to stop his mission. Those cowards are the one competing with Bro. ELi and Bro. Daniel.

    If only they have the same thinking as Bro. Eli had, they will accept the fact that Bro. Eli hold the key to the locked book and will support him to fulfill his task.

  9. Competition is seeking for first place or the top and when you get the top then you have a degree of power (Schmookler}.

    Is Bro. Eli seek to be the first and be at the top of all men? Is he had the power that others wanted to? The answer is NO. He never seek to be the best. He only wanted is to give glory to Lord Jesus and to Almighty God, and he do it by serving God faithfully. He is giving his all best to spread the gospel to the world, and not to be the best among others.

    Glory be to God and thanks be to Him that sent Bro. Eli to us.

  10. It is true! Bro. Eli is not competing with anybody. He is just reading the truth in the bible. It just so happen that there are those who do not love the truth but lies. – so enemies of faith arise. But nobody can stop him from spreading the gospel to humanity with God’s grace. He cannot be stopped unless by the will of God.

    We always pray for you bro. Eli!

  11. And I say AMEN to that. We know deep in our hearts it is not your intention ever since to compete with anybody, but rather encourage them to be a believers of God and to preach the word of God no matter what it takes.

  12. There are 2 types of people one who tell the truth and accept the truth no matter how hurtful it is and one who rather accept the pleasing word even if it is a lie and deny the truth for their own benefit. id rather be on the side of Bro Eli ,accepting the truth and gain salvation rather than to please others and lived a hypocrite way. In rich and famous society often you see people smiling and acting as everything is perfect with them , but the truth is they are the most lonely and emptly people . I thank God that He gave me a blessing to meet my needs ,enough poverty to learn how to work, enough happiness to keep me happy ,and enough sorrow to keep me human. Thanks be to to God for a genuine happiness ! Through Bro Eli I learn to appreciate life . What I have now is God gift to me . To God be the Glory!!!

  13. The word “competing” is not fitting for Bro. Eli. His unprecedented expertise of the Bible is undefeatable.

    His enemies are the ones trying to compete him but they end up losers. The more that they oppress Bro. Eli, more people are enlightened and join his followers.

    In fact, his enemies are digging their own pits and depth of despair whenever they try or attempt to compete with Bro. Eli.

    But, because of pride, even though they know already that Bro. Eli is one and only in these generation, it hurts them, thus, they try to dissuade from it. They try to fight truth with their unbelief.

  14. Bro Eli is not competing with anybody because like one brother said in an interview Bro Eli is the best in his field and if someone wants to compete with him might as well go away . Bro Eli `s success comes from the purity of his heart , his clean intention ,good conscience and God `s gift. Thanks be to God!!!

  15. To God be the Glory….I thanked God that he send Bro Eli to us to enlighten our way. And leads us to Church of God….I’m proud and I’m sure about my preacher. He’s teaching the truth.. no more, no less.

    Amen.

  16. I will accept what you said. But people have reasons to believe that you are because of how some people perceived you.

    The last two comments before mine say something that you may not agree yourself.

    “His unprecedented expertise of the Bible is undefeatable.” This sounds like a contest to me.

    “Bro Eli is the best in his field and if someone wants to compete with him might as well go away”. This too sound like a contest to me.

    I am not well versed in the Bible. But contest-thinking reminds me of two persons who asked Christ who shall sit on his sides. When followers think of you as undefeatable and the best in your field, I believe they are misreading you. There is danger when people brag about you because it creates an impression that you are competing with others.

    • @Jeff the doctrine of the woman who asked Jesus to let his two sons sit beside Jesus is a doctrine of who is the last and final judge who is God.

      Matthew 20:21-23 (King James Version)

      21And he said unto her, What wilt thou? She saith unto him, Grant that these my two sons may sit, the one on thy right hand, and the other on the left, in thy kingdom.

      22But Jesus answered and said, Ye know not what ye ask. Are ye able to drink of the cup that I shall drink of, and to be baptized with the baptism that I am baptized with? They say unto him, We are able.

      23And he saith unto them, Ye shall drink indeed of my cup, and be baptized with the baptism that I am baptized with: but to sit on my right hand, and on my left, is not mine to give, but it shall be given to them for whom it is prepared of my Father.

      What other contributors were saying was that Brother Eli has the knowledge of the bible that nobody yet was able to refute.

      Now if you can show me of anyone you know who can gainsay Brother Eli in his preachings, we will talk again. You know, these are not Brother Eli’s own knowledge. This was handed down to him by Someone who is in authority.

      Luke 21:15 (King James Version)

      15For I will give you a mouth and wisdom, which all your adversaries shall not be able to gainsay nor resist.
      Thanks be to God and hope to see you here again.

    • @ Jef

      If you want to search for the Truth, maybe you can start asking yourself the following?

      – is my religion teaching me the truth?
      – does it really follow the teachings in the Bilble ( but 1st, “do I believe in the Bible?”), and are the ministers consistent of what is taught in the Bible?
      – do we (members) have the same beliefs? and if we members speak of different interpretations, then something is wrong.
      – do I want to know everything of what is written in the Bible? At my age, can I still read the Bible in its entirety? If not, then find for someone who can read the Bible word for word untiringly and can answer all inquisitions by using the exact verses in the Bible, and who follows all what is taught in the Bible.
      – is there a person who can do this? He must not be able to do it on his own unless somebody greater and in authority is using him.
      – etc.

      I just want to tell a little story that I experienced. I once was able to go to Dubai and have met many Filipinos of different attitudes and beliefs. But what had struck me most was one of my own religion.

      While a group of Filipino workers were being driven to a site for work, a poor and uneducated muslim driver noticed a Filipino something hanging from his neck and ask him “what is that?” and this Filipino very proudly answered “this is my GOD!” And this poor muslim humbly answered him back, “My GOD is up there” as he pointed his finger in the sky.

      As I was sitting and thinking how my colleague answered to that very simple question, as if I wanted to cry… because I was so much touched by the answer of that seemingly innocent-like poor muslim driver coming from his heart.

      So if you come to think, why such an answer from that Filipino? Where did he learn that? He seemed always attending masses or assemblies. Maybe I would have had doubts about my own answer if I were asked that instant.

      I hope this will open up your heart and mind, and come to realize about yourself. About where and what sect you are in.

      May God bless us all…

  17. Well said Brother Eli. Just your plain act of unparalleled teaching to us the Wisdom Of God with all your honesty and purity already defeated our enemies — without competing yet…To God Be The Glory!

  18. Bro. Eli good day po sa inyo. Can you please make a blog regarding this article:

    http://www.yrm.org/popularcf.htm

    This is regarding food sacrificed to idols. According to Paul, idols are nothing in this world and there in none other but God (1Cor. 8:4). Then if they are nothing, then they could do neither good nor bad to foods sacrificed to them because they are just mere inventions of men. Is this a correct understanding?

    My other question is why would Paul order the church at Corinth to eat everything sold in the meat market or shambles (1Cor. 10:25-28) asking no questions whether it was offered to idols or not? According to Gill’s Exposition of the Entire Bible, meats offered to idols are being sold here. So was Paul suggesting that Christian can eat even meats that were offered to idols as long as no brother will see so as to avoid hurting their conscience and causes them to stumble? Please enlighten me.

    Thank you.

  19. all i can say to our fellowmen is
    PLEASE LISTEN TO BROD ELI SORIANO AND PLEASE READ HIS BLOGS THEN COMPARE WITH YOUR PASTORS’ AND OTHER RELIGIOUS LEADERS’
    TO GOD BE THE GLORY

  20. If there are people who hated Bro. Eli, it’s because they are ignorant of the truth. They called themselves religious but never understand the word of GOD which is written in the Holy Bible. They may hear the gospel preached by their priests but never understand it because their leaders are also blind with the truth about the kingdom of GOD.

    I’m a fan of Bro. Eli, and i watch his bible expose on television and the internet, i admire him because of his wisdom. He is a man of God who never afraid even if the whole world would beat him to death by preaching the the truth about the Kingdom of GOD. Those humiliated and treated him as an enemy because of their envy, hatred, greedy of power and money, they will not stand against Bro. Eli, because GOD will protect him from his enemy.

    Long live! Bro. Eli… and GOD bless us all!

  21. God bless you Bro Eli, Bro Daniel, brethrens in the Church of God, and fellow bloggers. While Bro Eli is not competing with anybody, the side of satan will always find a way to compete for the souls of those who have not yet heard of God’s truth. Leaders of fake churches have no other choice, as what they have been doing before, these children of the devil resorts to death threats, filing of trumped-up charges against Bro Eli and Bro Daniel, influencing the corrupt officialdom of the government under gloria arroyo in the endless persecution of Bro Eli.
    The catholics, the el shaddai, iglesia ni cristo ni manalo, quiboloy’s group, and many other churches that are commercially oriented are always on the run to recruit unsuspecting people into their group for their program of enrichment for fear that once prople hear Bro Eli’s biblical revelations, baptism in the Church of God is almost automatic.
    So, while Bro Eli is doing the big burden of spreading God’s Truth, the children of satan never sleeps and wants to compete with Bro Eli even if they know that their chances of winning is nil.
    Just go on Bro Eli, Bro Daniel, evil has no way of competing with you.

  22. Nothing compares to these two person who spends their life wealth just to preach the words of GOD
    for the salvation of people,even though they don’t want to compete anybody still they are the one.
    If Isaac Newton is the latest chosen as the brilliant Physycist for his achivements in science,Bro.Eli
    and Bro.Daniel are the best of their works for all people who wants to know the truth.
    To GOD be the glory!

  23. Hi Brother Eli, I didn’t know your ministry well, but my brother is volunteering in your ministry. Yung sinabi ni Jesus na if you believe in me you will be hated, you are a God’s man and I applaud you for teaching the truth that came from the bible.

  24. Bro. Eli is not competing with anyone. He just glorifies the ONE who sent him… In return, the Sender (FATHER) is proving him to be NOT THE BEST, but to be the ONLY SENSIBLE PREACHER of our time… TO GOD BE THE GLORY!

  25. Bro Eli, by God’s Help and Mercy I’m about to celebrate my 3rd month in the Truce Chuch, The Church of god. I certainly realised how different I am now compared before, most especially in terms of views in life. I thank God for giving me a chance to see and know the truth. And through these articles and God’s help, I strongly believe that what you preach is the truth. TO GOD BE THE GLORY.

Leave a Reply

