This Is What Friends Are For


ask1.jpg

From: Ana

Email: megumi3007@yahoo.com

How can we maintain a friendship according to the bible?

friends01.jpg

 

Dear Ana,

In this world, the only thing permanent is change (thus, the saying goes).

Maintaining friendship with anybody entails a lot of guts, patience, and understanding. It is almost impossible to have a permanent friend in human society today. But what is impossible under human standards is possible with God.

When I was in elementary school, I have learned a proverb that says: “Make new friends, but don’t forget the old; for new ones are silver, and the old ones are gold”. Biblically speaking, friends can be part of the inheritance from fathers.

(Proverbs 27:10) “Thine own friend, and thy father’s friend, forsake not; neither go into thy brother’s house in the day of thy calamity: for better is a neighbor that is near than a brother far off.”

But how can we preserve friendship? We must know whom to befriend and the factors that will destroy the friendship! The God of the Bible defines for us a true friend.

(Proverbs 18:24) “There are friends who pretend to be friends, but there is a friend who sticks closer than a brother.” RSV

The closeness of a true friend is enduring.

(Proverbs 17:17) “A friend loveth at all times, and a brother is born for adversity.”

A true friend’s criticism may hurt, but it is a sign of a true friend.

(Proverbs 27:6) “Faithful are the wounds of a friend; but the kisses of an enemy are deceitful.”

I have been following these examples set by the Bible regarding friendship, but those who do not understand, when I speak with frankness and truthfulness, with the intention to correct a beloved friend, sometimes turn to be a bitter enemy. If only people can see the heart, I should have made more friends than enemies. It happened to the apostles of Christ.

(Galatians 4:16-17) “Have I now become your enemy by telling you the truth? Those people are zealous to win you over, but for no good. What they want is to alienate you from us, so that you may be zealous for them.” NIV

friends03.jpgThere is a Spanish proverb that says, “El enemigo peor es él que era una vez un amigo” (The worst enemy is he who was once a friend). Beware! Do not make enemies out of friends, but make friends out of enemies.

(1 Corinthians 9:20-23) “And unto the Jews I became as a Jew, that I might gain the Jews; to them that are under the law, as under the law, that I might gain them that are under the law; To them that are without law, as without law, (being not without law to God, but under the law to Christ,) that I might gain them that are without law. To the weak became I as weak, that I might gain the weak: I am made all things to all men, that I might by all means save some.”

Beware, also, of the words of a talebearer!

(Proverbs 16:28) “A froward man soweth strife: and a whisperer separateth chief friends.”

If you want to maintain friendship, apply to yourself the virtues and values of a true friend. Do not expect it from your friend alone, it must be symbiotic. Jesus taught His disciples the greatest friendship attainable among human beings.

(John 15:13-15) “Greater love hath no man than this, that a man lay down his life for his friends. Ye are my friends, if ye do whatsoever I command you. Henceforth I call you not servants; for the servant knoweth not what his lord doeth: but I have called you friends; for all things that I have heard of my Father I have made known unto you.”

The Disciples of Christ applied this friendship among brethren.

(3 John 1:4) “But I trust I shall shortly see thee, and we shall speak face to face. Peace be to thee. Our friends salute thee. Greet the friends by name.”

Enduring friendship is attainable in the Church of God. Jesus and His disciples are the best of friends anybody can have.

 

God Bless,

bro-eli.jpg
EFS

 

54 thoughts on “This Is What Friends Are For

  1. What the bible teaches us about friendship is really true. True friends nowadays are hard to find. I’ve known many and also loose many. But I thank God I found my real friends… in the Church of God where true mens are.

  2. I have been one of those who really haven’t had any long-time friends.

    I guess I just didn’t have the qualities to be a true friend.
    Or the bond was not that strong enough.

    But now that I have been taught and now a member of the Church of God, I pray and believe that this will not be the case this time.

    “Col 3:14 And above all these things put on charity, which is the bond of perfectness. ” – KJV

  3. A friend indeed! Well Biblically defined and with absolute certainty what a true friend is……..

    More Power to you brother Eli

    GOD Bless in CHRIST

  4. I have been looking for true friends ever since I was young.

    I joined various religious organizations in search of the true people of God.

    I listened to the elders conversations, I have always been longing in my heart for something I do not know……

    There were times I told myself “I’d rather choose to live alone with God than to live with people with no God….because I found hypocrisy”.

    Not anymore….

    When I heard Bro. Ely preaching and became a member of the Church of God, I have found what I have long been searching for.

  5. For me I will just find a true friend in the CHURCH OF GOD INTERNATIONAL because this is the only place where true christian belong and where you can find true friend.A friend who believe GOD ,honest , kind and all the things you can find in a true friend

  6. How great it is to be a friend of Jesus Christ and to be a friend of God, what more can you ask for? PRAISE BE THE NAME OF GOD FOR THIS ARTICLE!!!

  7. Bro. Eli,

    Thank you very much for this blog!
    I’ve been lonely these past few days because I was worried to lose a special friend. With these pointers you’ve mentioned…it gave me hope…especially when we are in the Church of God.

  8. Bro. Eli,
    I’m so thankful to God for your blog about friendship… I’m very glad that finally, I met true and God-fearing friends in this church….. May God bless you…

  9. Bro.ELI we are so blessed to have you as the real “SUGO” you’ve touch our lives through words from GOD…You know what po i have lots of friends i love them so much they’ve been my ate and family to me,,,sa totoo lng po d2 me sila na-meet sa Church of GOD…mostly kc na friends me na taga-labas eh friends ka lng nila pag may kailangan sila at napapakinabangan ka..pero hindi naman po lahat mostly po ganun….unlike sa Church of GOD masarap sila maging FRIENDS nagdadamayan kme, nakakaramdam man kme ng mga sakit ng kalooban, paghihirap,etc..oks lang basta always together kami….at ipinagmamalaki ko sila with CONVICTION AT TAAS NOO PA!!!!!!! my MOMSYBEAR,LOLABEAR, DADDYBEAR,LOLOBEAR,MAMABEAR,UTOL, at lahat ng mga friends me sa IGLESIA….SALAMAT PO SA DIOS sa lahat ng kanyang kagandahang loob na di masayod….BRO.ELI IS THE BEST AMONG THE REST……..YAHOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!GET IT GET IT!!!!!!!

  10. “The closeness of a true friend is enduring”

    “A true friend’s criticism may hurt, but it is a sign of a true friend”

    this what bible SAYS.. ang this is really true… as i experience… this article reminds me that….
    to remain the bond of a friendship it need endurance.. love and patience… and many more… yehey…. THANKS TO GOD… for Genuine friend…

  11. The Brethren are real friends….. they live in the Spirit and walk in the Spirit cause the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, longsuffering, gentleness, goodness, faith, meekness, temperance.

    God Blessed me real good friends in CHURCH of GOD INTERNATIONAL.

    I am Thankful to God.

  12. Definitely this is a very good advice coming ofcourse from a very good and inteligent adviser like u Bro. eli (incomparable),, biblical guidlines how to win a special and true freinds is very much important to us as christian to keep faith intact i guess, i think this will be of big help to become cautious to lessen ones enemy and at the same to value old and new friends..like what u have said “Find new frens but dont 4get the old ones…..” til then Bro. eli we obviously cherish this article!!!
    (“,)R.S.RODRIGO

  13. an absolutely good advice!beware of false friends.have this as a tip / guide on looking for friends.thanks be to GOD.

  14. oh yes!

    that’s the answer that i’ve always wanted to hear…

    i’v asked almost everyone about friendship, but surely BRO. ELI knows the right thing…for surely it is according to the bible…

    tomodachi de KURAISUTO,

    -denchan-

  15. THIS SITE IS REALLY A BIG HELP TO A LOT OF PEOPLE….!!!GENERALLY FOR THOSE WHO ARE HAVING A LOT OF QUESTIONS LINGERING IN THEIR MINDS…!!!(SPIRITUALLY)
    THANKS TO GOD FOR HAVING BROTHER IN THIS ORGANIZATION…!!!HIS REALLY A TRUE MAN OF GOD..!!!

  16. Wow!
    Great!
    Thanks Bro.Eli now we know the real meaning of true friendship.
    “Breathren in chris” a real friend of mine.

    Gracias a Dios porsunerable don.

  17. oh?!
    thanks to God to that wonderful word!
    Jesus is the real friend we all ever had..
    thanks to Him!…
    And thanks to God coz He gave us a preacher like you bro Eli..
    We missed you!!
    We pray to see you soon again here in Philippines

  18. Bro. Eli, this is Fritz Gerald Victorino from Locale of Old Market, Pasig City, Philippines. I have read your blog about this is what are friends for. I thank God for giving me the opportunity to read one of your blogs. Now, I feel that I am equipped more on maintaining and gaining friends. How I wish that I can asked questions on you again. I also hope that you remember me, the one that asked you three questions there, correcting me.

    Please take care always! I cannot help you directly so to speak. But I believe that we have a God that will always protect us, no matter what happens. See you soon! I miss you! 🙂

  19. thank God,for having a preacher like you,you are so true to all of us,always praying for you to be in good health,ilove you brother eli,as friend,brother and our preacher,god bless you

  20. thanks be to God for having bro. Eli and bro. Daniel not only as our preachers, parents but also as a friend in the true sense of the word…

  21. for me,REAL,TRUE FRIENDS are IN the Church….THANKS BE 2 GOD..THANK YOU BRO.ELI,WE MISS U VERY MUCH…i have seen many friends inside the church because of Bro.Eli…

  22. To God be the glory for having found true friends in the Lord in His Church. Thanks be to God, Brother Eli and Brother Daniel, for teaching us how to find true friends in this chaotic world. God bless us all always.

    Haiku: That’s What Friends Are For

    You are not alone
    in this world of sins,
    so do not be sad.

    We are here for you,
    notwithstanding our distance;
    That’s what friends are for.

  23. hello bro eli, for me CHRIST is the only real friend that we can put on our full trust and and the ONLY ONE who will never let you down. thanks God

  24. Dearest Brother Eli,

    This is Bro. Rowell Ancheta from the locale of Imus. Upon reading this it just came to my mind with great amaze “what kind of people” you are communicating the gospel to here in cyberspace.

    These people that even the false preachers have a hard time reaching out to in their Sunday preaching.

    Your communicating with mostly YOUNG SOULS,
    who WANDER aimlessly in cyberspace
    SEARCHING hour upon hours for that
    “UNKNOWN, UNEXPLAINABLE, WALA LANG” SOMETHING that they want.

    That UNKNOWN SOMETHING that they want is consist of
    love, happiness, fun, identity, friendship, belongingness, kausap, self fulfillment, interest, curiosity, information, interaction, self worth, purpose in life, the truth.

    I remember the Bible mention about people who are considered “scum of the world” – the young ones.

    The bitter and rejected people, people who do not “belong”, lonely, lonesome, lost, disenfranchised, identity crisis, insecure youth who find happiness away from their parents, people who hate the world, youth who want to end their life because of grief and misery, a poor soul looking for friend.

    Also included are the outcasts of society-lonely young people who are of so low self esteem that they hide their own identity need one way interaction of some sort so their wont get hurt.

    Certainly “the arm of the LORD is not short” because even in the deepest, darkest and loneliest parts of cyberspace, with the Gospel of Jesus Christ… he can REACH OUT, TOUCH and SAVE…. somebody like … Me.

    All glory, thanks and praises be unto God our Father. Amen.

  25. here i have learned what what the true meaning of friendship means…
    seeing bretherens working hand in hand without asking in return…
    helping…
    reaching out to people you dont even know…
    sacrificing everything…
    even if you are hated,sometimes abused….scarred….
    all for the sake of “LOVE”…

    TO GOD BE THE GLORY!!!FOR ETERNITY!!!

  26. Thank you Bro. Eli… may God bless you always and your love ones. May He continue to use you for the Glory of His name. PRAISE BE TO GOD!

  27. bro.eli,

    thanks for those biblical explanations about friendship…. i’m very thankful because before, i have a friend whom i thought the person really worthy to be called “BESTFRIEND”, but then, my “bestfriend” left me.. it hurts me a lot because i really treated that person as my bestfriend,but in a snap, that friendship was just thrown away…

    but now, i was very sure that my friend is TRUE friend… because this friendship was formed inside the church of God.. and i believe that my friends now are given by God… God called all of us inside the church, so it means that it is God’s will for us to be togethere..

    and most of all… we’ve found Christ, our TRUE BESTFRIEND.. BESTEST BESTFRIEND (^_^)

    salamat po sa Dios, Bro.Eli…

  28. truly amazing! Thanks be to GOD for Bro Eli. Now I know how to choose a friend.

    JEsus is the best of all. He’s a friend who will never leave you.

  29. Thanks be to God!! brother Eli.. i have found a real true friends.. inside the church of God! i have Christ a true bestfriend!! and we have you Brother Eli and Brother Daniel.. (TO GOD BE THE GLORY) Dios nawa ingatan kayo brother Eli….

  30. We must acquire the spirit of Abraham.

    And the Scripture was fulfilled which saith, Abraham believed God, and it was imputed unto him for righteousness: and he was called the Friend of God.
    James 2:23

  31. hi bro. eli,

    i thank God for the blessings that He is giving me, especially this one, the knowledge that came from His word and you as His instrument.

    I’ve posted this topic, “This Is What Friends Are For” with a link to your blog in my friendster account bulletin. I also send a message to all my friends with a link to your blog. I hope my friends will read it, and will be enlighted like me.

    I’ve learned a lot from your blog. I also pray that they will visit and read your entire blog. Its very interesting and full of knowledge. You’re explanation is easy to understand, its simple but deep. I say its deep because before when I’m reading the bible its really hard for me to understand, but when I start listening, watching and visiting your sites and reading your blog, it became simple.

    Thank you bro eli for your dedication.

    I always pray for you.

    to God be the Glory!

  32. PRAISE TO YOU LORD GOD. Thank you very much, YOUR blessings and gift to Bro Eli to know and understand the TRUTH is continuously doing good to many people, to include those who are still outside of the CHURCH OF GOD International. Feeding the flock with the heavenly bread has all the more been stronger this end times. Without regard to the threats to his life, health, and personal comforts, Bro Eli, assisted by Bro Daniel, the ministers and workers and members of the CHURCH OF GOD International, where one can find loyal and true friends. Many thanks Bro Eli, Bro Daniel, we are always praying for your safety, physical and spiritual strenght. We love you friends.

  33. I have a lot of friends in Church of God…but still my BEST FRIEND is only Jesus Christ. He understand me more than anyone else.

  34. all i can say is AMEN ..

    wow , thanks be to God for HIS unspeakable gift ..

    may God keep you safe always (wherever you are) Bro. Eli .. Godbless ..

  35. I’ve found true friends..
    They are priceless..
    More precious than silver or gold..
    Thanks be to God! ^^

  36. There are so many things I’ve learned from this blog. I feel something marvelous that can’t be explained by words. Imagine, there’s something that a worthless servant can do to be a good friend! It’s always worthwhile to be a friend who cares, a friend who prays for her friend, a friend who’s ready to forgive and share blessings. True friends are hard to find especially during these times when most people tends to seek for the things they can benefit from.

    This is the best feeling I’ve felt talking about friendship. I can’t contain the gratefulness and humility being told that Christ is our friend, provided, we fear, we obey or keep His words.

    Glory to God!

  37. A very inspiring blog indeed, made me realize how much love God has for me by surrounding me with true friends in Christ, for loving me as I am as well as accepting me for my shortcomings. Thanks be to God Bro. Eli!

  38. Thanks be to God for this new wisdom taught by Jesus Christ thru bro. Eli Soriano. I would have never known that I have numerous friends in Jesus if not for this blog. Taking heed of Jesus’ commandments are the binding factor of Christian friendship.

    I can call a friend a true friend if he or she keeps all His commandments. 🙂

Leave a Reply

